Dr. Dermot Kelleher – HCS21

Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia

Dr. Dermot Kelleher brings significant experience and is recognized internationally for innovation in academic health leadership and administration, clinical care, research and education.
Dr. Kelleher joined the University of British Columbia (UBC) in 2015 and serves as the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice-President, Health. Prior to his appointment at UBC, Dr. Kelleher served as Vice-President Health and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London, where he also held a concurrent appointment as Dean of the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine in Singapore until 2014. Dr. Kelleher has also served as Head of the School of Medicine and Vice Provost for Medical Affairs at Trinity College, Dublin.

Dr. Kelleher graduated from medicine from Trinity College, Dublin in 1978, going on to specialize in gastroenterology and general internal medicine. Author of 300 publications and 14 patents, Dr. Kelleher’s research examines immune responses in gastrointestinal disease and cancer. Over the years he has received many prestigious awards including a NIH Fogarty Scholarship at the University of California San Diego, Wellcome Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science, and the Conway Medal from the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland.

With a strong commitment to innovation and collaboration, Dr. Kelleher currently serves on the advisory board of Research Excellence Framework (REF) in the U.K., and is the Chair of the Standing Committee on Research and Innovation at the Association of Faculties of Medicine Canada. He has a strong background in innovation over his entire career and has worked to found several companies supporting both translational developments in biomedical science and fostering collaboration in biomedical research in both Dublin and London, including for example, MedCity in London. In addition, he has served as a non-executive Director of ICON plc, a globally leading Clinical Research Organization. A Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (London), he also served as President of the Federation of European Academies of Medicine before moving to British Columbia, Canada.